Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Downtown Buildings have a strong showing at the 2011 Heritage Awards

On Tuesday October 11, 2011 with great anticipation, over 200 residents of Forsyth County awaited the official announcement of the winners of the 2011 Heritage Awards honoring those in the community exemplifying stewardship of architectural, cultural, and natural  heritage in the community.

Preserve Historic Forsyth, whose mission is to promote, protect, and advocate for the historic resources in Forsyth County, presented the awards in Hanes Auditorium at Salem Academy and College.

The ceremony, opened by Winston-Salem Mayor Allen Joines, featured a keynote address by Josh Rogers, Executive Director of Historic Macon Foundation in Macon, Georgia

2011 Heritage Awards Winners

The 2011 Heritage Awards were presented in nine award categories from a field of 34 nominees judged by an independent jury of preservation experts from outside Forsyth County. While each and every nominee was worthy of recognition for their work in preservation, only one can be recognized as winner in each category for 2011.

And the winners in the following categories were:

Residential – Large Scale

The Shaffner House, 428 South Main Street, Winston-Salem

Winners: Albert and Carmen Bambach

Residential – Small Scale

The Harley A. Michael House, 209 Vintage Avenue, Winston-Salem

Winners: Denis and Nancy Kissane

Residential – Income Producing

Y-Stair Apartment Buildings, North Cherry Street, Winston-Salem

Winners: Dewey Anderson, Blackpine Development and The Landmark Group

Rural Farm Preservation

Samuel B. Stauber Farm, 6085 Bethania-Tobaccoville Road, Bethania

Winners: Charles and Lamar Taft


Former Swift & Company Building, currently Krankies Coffee, 211 East Third Avenue, Winston-Salem

Winner: John Bryan


Lloyd Presbyterian Church, 748 North Chestnut Street, Winston-Salem

Winners: The Reverend Laura M. Spangler, Lloyd Presbyterian Church Congregation, Wilson-Covington Construction Company

Historic Landscapes

Rear Private Gardens, 319 South Main Street, Winston-Salem

Winners: Carol Wooley and John Hauser


Lewisville Historical Society

Winners: Lewisville Historical Society


Winner: George Bryan

Look for detailed information on all of the winners and nominees coming soon to the Preserve Historic Forsyth web site and Facebook page. And thanks to our Partners in Preservation who helped make this event such a success.

No comments: